cursor
de|en

Michael Naef

Diver Outline

Diving. Together with lots of other things, it fascinated me ever since my childhood. But, in contrast to the many other things, everyone can dive, even a little boy. You don't need anything. So it was that days in swimming baths have always been higlights - but not for the swimming...

Diving!

After some years of school sports, underwater rugby and life saving I learnt to dive with SCUBA gear. For that was the "real" diving, I thought. But after all these years spent freediving, moving nimble and agile, I couldn't find so much joy in drifting along with the clumsy gear anymore. I stayed with the right: Freediving.

Some time arround the year 2000 I got infected with monofins. I used to dive regularly in the lake Zürisee for pleasure when a colleague brought a monofin along. Not only the appearance but also the new feeling was wonderfull. I had to have such a thing! When I finally wanted more, deeper, further, longer, I realized, that I can't do this alone on my own any longer. I started searching for other "fools", which long for the same - and they exist...

During winter 2008/09 I started training with the team. Right a the beginning I made myself clear that I don't want to do competitions, just train, go further, longer and deeper. Well, it came out the other way. After a few weeks, when I had beaten all my colleagues, the voices calling for a competition became more determined, until I resigned and let myself persuade for the Coupe des Dauphins in january 2009. There I found out that the competitions are fair, the athletes are kind and there is no sign of distrust or arrogance. Freediver are open and companionable folks. I was infected.

The most important thing, however, remains the pleasure for diving. It woud be impossible for me to achieve good performances if not still the joy and fascination for the human beeing in the water was driving me: Escape into the third dimension, to conquer oneself and ones element and for a momment beeing part of a world to which we naturaly have not acces to.

Dates

Name: Michael Naef
Born: 1978
Location: Rapperswil-Jona at the lake Zürisee, Switzerland
Hobbies: Freediving, flying, freeclimbing and lots more
© 2019 Michael Naef
File last modified: Friday, 28-Jan-2011
Vaild XHTML 1.1 Valid CSS

cursor
de|en

Michael Naef

Diver Outline

Tauchen. Zusammen mit vielen anderen Dingen hat mich das seit meiner Kindheit fasziniert. Aber im Gegensatz zu vielen, der "vielen anderen Dinge" kann jeder tauchen, auch ich. Man braucht nichts dazu. So waren Badi-Besuche und später in der Schule der Schwimmunterricht Höhepunkte - aber nicht des Schwimmens wegen...

Tauchen!

Nach einigen Jahren Schulsport, Unterwasser Rugby und Rettungsschwimmen habe ich auch das Tauchen mit Pressluftflaschen gelernt. Das habe ich als Kind immer als "das richtige Tauchen" angesehen. Nach all den Jahren des behenden und leichten Fortbewegens unter Wasser konnte ich jedoch keinen grossen Gefallen am behäbigen und schwerfälligen daher driften beim SCUBA Tauchen mehr finden. Es blieb beim Richtigen: beim Freitauchen.

Irgend wann, um das Jahr 2000 wurde ich mit dem Monoflossenfieber angesteckt. Ich tauchte regelmässig zum Vergnügen im Zürichsee als ein Kollege eine Monoflosse mitbrachte. Nicht nur das Erscheinungsbild auch das neue Tauchgefühl war wunderbar. So etwas musste her! Als ich dann schliesslich weiter, tiefer und länger tauchen wollte, wurde mir klar, dass ich das nicht alleine tun durfte. Ich machte mich auf die Suche nach anderen "Spinnern", die nach dem Selben sehnten - und es gibt sie...

Im Winter 2008/09 begann ich mit dem Training im Team. Gleich bei meinem Einstand stellte ich klar, dass ich keine Wettkämpfe besuchen, sondern einfach trainieren wollte, länger, tiefer und weiter gehen. Es kam anders. Nach einigen Wochen hatte ich im Statisch alle Kollegen geschlagen und die Mahnungen, ich solle doch einmal an einem Wettkampf teilnehen wurden ernster, bis ich mich für die Teilname am Coupe des Dauphins im Januar 2009 überreden lies. Dort stellte ich fest, die Wettkämpfe sind fair, die Athleten sind nett und es ist keine Spur von Missgunst, Eifersucht oder Überheblichkeit zu finden. Die Freitaucher sind ein offenes und geselliges Völkchen. Ich war angesteckt.

Das Wichtigste ist für mich aber nach wie vor der Spass am Tauchen. Es wäre für mich nicht möglich gute Leistungen zu erbringen, wenn mich nicht immer noch die Faszination und die Freude am Mensch im Wasser treiben würde: Ausbüxen in die dritte Dimension, sich und sein Element bezwingen und für einen Moment Teil einer Welt zu sein, zu der wir sonst keinen Zugang haben.

Steckbrief

Name: Michael Naef
Geboren: 1978
Wohnort: Rapperswil-Jona am Zürisee, Schweiz
Hobbies: Freitauchen, Fliegen, Klettern und vieles mehr
© 2019 Michael Naef
File last modified: Thursday, 6-Jan-2011
Vaild XHTML 1.1 Valid CSS